top of page
Search

Covid Postpartum !!

I’m sure a lot of you guys are wondering what my experience was being a brand new mom and finding out I have covid during my labor. Well I can say that it was weird and a little scary. During my labor and through my contractions my anxiety kept trying to get the best of me. I don’t know if it was Covid or anxiety making me feel short of breath at times and like I was going to faint or pass out. Honestly could have been a combination of both most likely. Another weird thing about finding out in labor that I was Covid positive was that, had I not gone into labor with my son 2 weeks early I wouldn’t have even known I had it. I didn’t even realize that I had lost my sense of smell. Never realized how congested and tired I was either because of the fact that I had been so used to blaming all of that on pregnancy and being close to getting ready to have my son. I would say that for me the worse thing about me having covid and having just delivered a newborn was that the fatigue was so real that tending to my son in the hospital was hard. He cried a lot and neither his father or I had a lot of energy to deal with it to the best capacity as we would had we been Covid free. I had to wear a mask when feeding or holding my son which sucked. I was nervous that he would somehow get sick or catch Covid from his dad or I. I hated even coughing around him not that I could control that thanks to Covid as well. None of us were allowed to leave our room due to being positive and my son stayed in the room with us the entire time as well except for when they did his circumcision. They gave him a bath almost immediately when they moved me from the room I gave birth in to the room we’d be staying in once I gave birth to him. They did this due to me having covid. They said he needed to be washed up quickly. It just sucked honestly. Everyone had to gown up and wear shields and mask every time they came in my room for anything. But that’s life I guess. Not everything was terrible after all I did give birth to another one of my biggest blessings and for that I’m the happiest and luckiest mommy in the world. Until next time friends ...




39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page