top of page
Search

1st Prenatal Visit

Updated: Jul 2, 2020

January 8th, 2020

11:47am

I can remember my very first OB appointment, it was extremely interesting. My OB’s name was Dr. Klaus. I remember him asking me if I knew approximately when my last cycle was so that he could determine what my due date would be. I told him when it was and he asked if I knew about how far along I was which I also knew as well. He doubted me from the very beginning stating “ I’m not calling you a liar or anything but that’s probably not correct, but I’ll do an ultrasound so that I can let you know when your due.

Before he proceeded to do the ultrasound he then looks at me and says “ so your name is Ebony Smith”, and I’m like yeah why? It used to be Ebony Lopez but now I’m married so I have my husband‘s last name. He goes on to say I used to have a patient named... then he stops and goes never mind I won’t say it. Then he thinks about it and goes on to say actually I’ll just tell you because the name is so common anyway. He goes on to say I used to have a patient named Ebony Brown, and whenever she would come in I would “say hey black brown” ! If you could have seen the look on my husbands face and mine 😱 We were so offended and shocked all at the same time.

After that he goes on to say are you guys getting the NIPT test? I asked what it was for and he said, it’s a test that determines whether your child will have any abnormalities such as down syndrome and things like that. I told him that I wasn’t sure but that I would talk to my husband and see if that was something we wanted to do. He then looked at my husband and looked at me and looked back at my husband and says “Well if I was you I would definitely get that test done” ! At this point we are extremely uncomfortable with this doctor. We both tell him OK we will talk about it and let you know when we have our next appointment. Then he goes on to do the ultrasound to see how far along I was. He ended up doing the ultrasound and I was exactly correct. HE WAS SHOCKED ! I was 7 weeks and 3 days. After he let us hear the baby’s heartbeat and sent us on our way.


Once my husband and I got in the car we just looked at each other in disbelief. I then asked him if he felt as uncomfortable at that appointment as I did, and he definitely did. He was so upset that he told me that I needed to go and find another OB and schedule my next appointment with them as soon as possible. So I went and did just that. The only problem was that the OB I booked couldn’t see me for almost 2 months. So I ended up having to have my next appointment with Dr. Klaus once again. 🤦🏾‍♀️


SO I KNOW YOURE ALL WONDERING WHAT HAPPENED NEXT RIGHT ?? Your probaly thinking it couldnt possibly get any worse then that lol ! WELL Stay TUNED for my next blog on OB Appointment #2 !

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page