top of page
Search

2nd Prenatal Visit

Updated: Jul 2, 2020

So the following month arrives and it’s time for my second OB appointment. Of course I am extremely nervous and uncomfortable because of the past experience that I had with the OB at my last appointment, but I’m also excited because I get to see my baby and hear the heartbeat again. We get into the room and almost immediately Dr. Klaus says to us “I see in the system that you guys have scheduled your next appointment with a new OB and I want to know why. Me being me (I don’t like confrontation) so I quickly say “oh I just would prefer to have a woman OBGYN instead of a man. My husband BEING WHO HE IS WITH NO HESITATION JUMPS RIGHT in and SAYS “that is absolutely not correct,we are firing you as our OB because you’re extremely unprofessional, extremely racist and have made a lot of offensive comments towards my wife that I did not like, and that she did not feel comfortable with. He then goes on to say you violated HIPPA by telling us one of your patients names you made a racist remark about how common the name Ebony is to my wife while also making a joke of someone else’s name. I didn’t like the way you were speaking to us or the way you made us feel at the last appointment so yes we did pick another OB and we will not be coming back after this appointment . At this point the OB is so taken aback and shocked at what has come out of my husbands mouth that I don’t even think he knows what to say. So he starts trying to apologize and backpedal of course .He says “I am so sorry,I had no idea that I made you guys uncomfortable I didn’t mean it... BLAH BLAH BLAH.

Then says “but I mean what can I do, I can’t take it back now,I’ve already said it it’s already been said at this point so oh well. At this point I’m mortified to say the least but extremely happy that my husband stood up for me. So once we move past that the doctor goes on to say so did you and your husband give more thought to the NIPT test? I then say yes, my husband and I have decided against it we don’t feel like we need it. I kid you not, he then looked at my husband once again and goes “well if I was you I would definitely get it but you know what not my baby not my problem” Directly after that he goes on to do an internal exam with his fingers and goes OK yeah you’re definitely pregnant. I will let you hear the heartbeat and you can leave. He goes and gets a Doppler find the baby’s heartbeat and goes OK yeah you’re definitely pregnant all right, you can go now and that was the end of that appointment!

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page